The first bridge at this site was built in 1691, being very narrow, the locals called it Magere brug, which means small or skinny bridge. It was replaced by another wooden bridge in 1871 which lasted for about 60 years. In 1930s it was proposed to have a steel and stone bridge at this site but the city decided to replace it with a new bridge that looked the same as the previous one, only slightly bigger. Accordingly the old bridge was demolished and replaced in 1934 with the present bridge, which underwent major renovation in 1969.
Earlier cars were allowed on this bridge but since 2003 its use has been limited to pedestrians and cyclists only. Until 1994 the bridge was opened by hand, but now it operates automatically and is opened many times a day in order to let the river traffic through.
The bridge is illuminated daily in the evening with about 1200 light bulbs. Further every year on V-E Day there is a concert next to the bridge, which Queen Beatrix usually attends.
The bridge has also been shown James Bond movie - Diamonds Are Forever.
View in Google Earth Google Maps and Street View
Info Source: Wikipedia